HIV and STI risk reduction among migrant workers at Kazakhstani markets 

Silk Road Health Project

Migrants from the Central Asia countries working at the wholesale-retail market “Barakholka” in Almaty is a mobile population which is defined as a group exposed to high risk of HIV/STI infection and transmission.

HIV and STI risk reduction among migrant workers at Kazakhstani markets (Silk Road Health Project) is a four years research (2009 -2013) carried out by the Global Health Research Center in Central Asia (GHRCCA), and aimed at studying of migration impact on the health of men from the Central Asian countries, and obtaining the information for future efforts to reduce HIV/STI heterosexual transmission proportion in Central Asia.

The research results will allow addressing a wide range of issues related to various HIV/STI sexual transmission risk factors, and developing diseases effective preventive measures, which will improve health and medical services in Kazakhstan and Central Asia.

The Project is funded by the US National Mental Health Institute and is approved by the International Ethical Committees of both the Columbia University and Kazakhstani Public Health School.

Aims: The study aims to examine the theoretical multi-level determinants; impact on sexual behavior risks, HIV, Chlamydia, gonorrhea and syphilis among male migrant workers in wholesale and retail market (Barakholka) in Almaty, Kazakhstan.

Design, methods and sampling  

Study consists of two phases: the first – qualitative research, the second – quantitative longitudinal study of the target population group.

Qualitative study:

60 “Barakholka” market workers were randomly selected to participate in the in-depth interviews in the first phase. To study changes in the sequence of events in the context of cultural backgrounds, values, beliefs, norms of sexual behavior, models and dynamics of relationships that affected the risks of sexual behavior, ethnic and migration characteristics – qualitative data on 48 workers (4 from each group) that were citizens of Kyrgyzstan, Uzbekistan, Tajikistan and Kazakhstan (out of the internal migrants group) were compared with the corresponding data on 12 men from the group of comparison of non-migrants who resided in Almaty and were the citizens of Kazakhstan.

 

Longitudinal study:

For the longitudinal study of the main quantitative phase, 1600 ” Barakholka ” market workers were recruited using RDS sampling method (respondent driven sampling). The sample consisted of 1280 migrants from Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Uzbekistan and Tajikistan, and 320 market workers, non-migrants, who resided Almaty and were the citizens of Kazakhstan. Participants undergo a baseline assessment at their first visit, and then at 3, 6, 9 and 12 months follow-ups, completing audio computer-assisted interview, reflecting data recognized by the participant on their behavioral risk, migration characteristics and socio-demographic questions. We will collect laboratory data to confirm of HIV/STI status at the first visit to the project office and after 12 months of the project completion.

 

Participants’ references

“Thank you for the project that gives an opportunity for young people to think about their health. The project staff is so careful. Quite pleasant servicing. Nice greeting of participants. As far as the questions are concerned – they are really needed, useful and correct; they are related to the health of people.   Thanks!!!!” Olzhas, project participant,

14.07.11.

“I like this project, since not everybody has an opportunity to pass the tests or medical examination. I wish you all the best with this project!!” Askhat, project participant,                                                                                               14.09.11.


(Translated from Kazakh):

“I’m grateful to you for free tests. Thank you for such good undertaking. Let your work move ahead. Thank you once again”, Daulet, project participant

 

“Thank you very much. I see such project for the first time. You help us greatly! Thank you!” Maksat, project participant, 29.06.11.

 

 (Translated from Kyrgyz):

“I really like this project. Being completing the computer survey I answered my own questions and resolved some problems I had. There a lot of people with different diseases, and you are doing a good job for them. Continue your research, study the behavioral models. I would like to thank all staff members working in the project! I wish you to continue and have other similar projects. And God bless you!” Eldiyar, project participant, 31.03.12


Login

Снижение риска ВИЧ и ИППП среди

мигрантов- работников рынков  Казахстана

Трудящиеся мигранты из стран Центральной Азии, работающие на оптово-розничном рынке «Барахолка» в Алматы, являются мобильным населением и определяются как группы высокого риска заражения и распространения ВИЧ/ИПП.

Проект «Снижение риска ВИЧ и ИППП среди мигрантов-работников  рынков Казахстана (Шелковый Путь к Здоровью)» является четырехлетним исследованием (2009 -2013), которое проводит Центр Изучения Глобального Здоровья в Центральной Азии (ЦИГЗЦА) с целью изучения влияния миграции на здоровье мужчин из центрально-азиатских республик и получения информации для будущих усилий по снижению доли гетеросексуальной передачи ВИЧ и ИППП в Центральной Азии.

Результаты исследований позволят ответить на широкий спектр вопросов, касающихся различных факторов формирования половых рисков заражения ВИЧ и ИППП и разработать эффективные меры профилактики этих инфекционных заболеваний, что позволит улучшить состояние здоровья и лечебные услуги в Казахстане и странах Центральной Азии.

Проект финансируется Национальным Институтом Ментального Здоровья США и одобрен Международными этическими советами Колумбийского университета и Казахстанской Школы Общественного Здравоохранения.

 Цели: Исследование направлено на изучение влияния теоретических многоуровневых определяющих факторов на риски полового поведения и случаи заражения ВИЧ, хламидиозом, гонореей и сифилисом среди мужчин-мигрантов, работающих на оптово-розничном рынке (Барахолка) в Алматы, Казахстан.

 Дизайн, методы и выборка  

Исследование состоит из двух фаз: первая – качественное исследование, вторая — количественное продольное исследование изучаемой группы населения.

Качественное исследование:

Для первой фазы случайным методом были выбраны 60 работников рынка «Барахолка» для участия в глубинных интервью. Чтобы изучить изменения в последовательности событий в контексте культурных особенностей, ценностей, убеждений, норм сексуального поведения, модели и динамики развития взаимоотношений, оказывающих влияние на  риски полового поведения, по этническим и миграционным характеристикам, качественные данные по 48 мигрантам (4 из каждой группы), являющимися гражданами Киргизстана, Узбекистана, Таджикистана или Казахстана (из группы внутренних мигрантов), сравнивались с соответствующими  данными по 12 мужчинам, представляющим группу сравнения не из числа мигрантов, которые постоянно проживают в Алматы и являются гражданами Казахстана.

Продольное исследование:

Для продольного исследования основной количественной фазы набираются 1600 работников оптово-розничного рынка «Барахолки» методом RDS выборки (выборки, построенной самими респондентами). Выборка составляет 1280 мигрантов из Казахстана, Киргизстана, Узбекистана и Таджикистана и 320 работников рынка не из числа мигрантов, которые постоянно проживают в Алматы и являются гражданами Казахстана. Участники проходят базовую оценку при первом визите, затем в 3, 6, 9 и 12 месяцах с использованием аудио-компьютеризированного интервью, в котором отражаются  данные о признанных самим участником поведенческих рисках, миграционных характеристиках и социально демографических вопросах. Мы будем собирать лабораторные данные для  подтверждения статуса по ВИЧ/ИППП при первом визите в офис проекта и через 12 месяцев.

Отзывы участников

«Спасибо за проект, который дает возможность молодым людям подумать, о своем здоровье. Очень внимательные сотрудники, приятное обслуживание, хорошее приветствие участников. Что касается вопросов, они очень нужные, полезные и действительно правильные (вопросы касающиеся здоровья людей). Рахмет!!!!»

Участник проекта Олжас, 14.07.11 год.

«Мне нравится данный проект, так как не все могут пройти данные тесты,  т.е медицинское обследование и проверится.  Удачи в данном проекте!!»

Участник проекта Асхат,  14.09.11  год.

Перевод с казахского языка:

«Я вам очень благодарен за бесплатное обследование (анализы). Спасибо вам за доброе дело. Пусть ваша работа продвигается вперед. Спасибо вам», Участник проекта  Даулет

«Спасибо вам большое. Я первый раз вижу такой проект. Вы нам очень сильно помогаете. Спасибо!», Участник проекта Максат, 29.06.11 год.

 Перевод с киргизского языка:

«Мне этот проект очень понравился. Все вопросы и проблемы которые накопились в душе, я на них ответил в анкете на компьютере. В наше время много людей болеют разными болезнями и вы делаете хорошее дело для людей. Проводите обследование и изучаете поведение людей. Я хочу сказать проекту и людям , которые в нем работают -большое спасибо! И желаю, что бы продолжались другие проекты. Дай Бог вам здоровья!» Участник проекта Элдияр, 31.03.12

 

Логин